dispatches from the pop scene...minus the corn syrup.

Sunday, April 13, 2014

UK Chart Roundup: Sigma's "Nobody To Love" Is My New Jam, Despite The Kanye West Sample

British boy band The Vamps edge closer to having their first #1 hit on the UK chart with third single "Last Night," which goes in at #2. So far, all of the quartet's singles have charted at either #2 or #3, but alas, they were held off this particular week by dance outfit Sigma and their fantastic jam "Nobody To Love."

Of course, "Nobody To Love" is basically built around Charlie Wilson's vocal from Kanye West's "Bound 2"... and that song BLOWS. But with that soulful vocal bit slapped on top of a drum and bass beat, Sigma's re-working of the tune makes for a nice one-hit moment at the top of the chart as springtime sets in.

Enjoy your time in the sun, Sigma!

The UK Top 10:

1. "Nobody To Love" - Sigma *new* *1 week*
2. "Last Night" - The Vamps *new*
3. "The Man" - Aloe Blacc
4. "All Of Me" - John Legend
5. "Fancy" - Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX *new*
6. "I Got U" - Duke Dumont feat. Jax Jones
7. "Happy" - Pharrell
8. "My Love" - Route 94 feat. Jess Glynne
9. "Rather Be" - Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne
10. "Dark Horse" -Katy Perry feat. Juicy J

Labels: , , ,

MNEK's "Every Little Word" Is Pretty Great

MNEK's first legit single as a major label artist, "Every Little Word," is something you should all prick your ears up for. To me, it kind of sounds like mid-to-late '80s R&B-pop — the type of stuff The Jets or Lisa Lisa or Cameo would offer up. Then it gets all crazy when MNEK starts experimenting with the tempo change control on the chorus.

You might recall this guy's pretty rad cover of Kylie Minogue's 1994 single "Put Yourself In My Place" from two years ago. That all came full circle for MNEK when he produced Kylie's Kiss Me Once track "Feels So Good."


Thursday, April 10, 2014

US Chart Roundup: This Top 10 Has Gotta Go


The U.S. Top 10:

1. "Happy" - Pharrell Williams *7 weeks*
2. "All Of Me" - John Legend
3. "Dark Horse" - Katy Perry feat. Juicy J
4. "Talk Dirty" - Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz
5. "Let It Go" - Idina Menzel
6. "Pompeii" - Bastille
7. "Team" - Lorde
8. "Counting Stars" - OneRepublic
9. "The Man" - Aloe Blacc
10. "Turn Down For What" - DJ Snake & Lil Jon


Wednesday, April 09, 2014

It's Kylie Minogue's Bright And Shiny "I Was Gonna Cancel" Lyric Video

And it's pretty much a straight-forward, neon lit affair for Kylie's Pharrell Williams-produced second single off Kiss Me Once. Have at it.

Labels: ,

Here's Lady Gaga's "Do What U Want" Minus R. Kelly, Christina Aguilera, Etc. Etc.

Remember a million years ago (or, seven months ago) when there was such hope for Lady Gaga's second ARTPOP single "Do What U Want"? And then, post-R. Kelly re-scandalization, that hope rose ever so slightly once more with the Christina Aguilera duet version of the song?

It turns out the solo Lady Gaga rendition, which has the same lyrics as the Xtina one, has leaked. It's a shame this wasn't originally be one and only, because "Do What U Want" really is a good jam. But hindsight, as they say...


Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Betty Who's 'Slow Dancing' EP Is Out Today

The first proper major label release from Betty Who was released today, in the form of her second EP, Slow Dancing. Current single "Heartbreak Dream" is on it along with four other tracks — though not included is "Somebody Loves You," which is iTunes' free single of the week (and clearly the most popular song by BW at the moment). Yes, it's all very confusing, but all good pop music, nonetheless.


Ed Sheeran's "Sing" Isn't Really That Great & It's A Ripoff Of Rolling Stones' "Miss You" Anyway

If we're to go by Ed Sheeran's past catalog of sleep-inducing coffee house fare, sure, his new single "Sing" might be considered pretty exciting. (Probably not the right term for "Sing," but try telling that to the rest of the Internet.) But if you really stop shoving long plastic objects up your ass long enough to actually pay attention, everyone, you'll realize it's just a knockoff of "Moves Like Jagger," which was itself a knockoff of "Miss You" by the Rolling Stones.


Et Voila...


Monday, April 07, 2014

Kylie's Next Single Is "I Was Gonna Cancel"

This has been out there for a few days now, but Kylie Minogue's next Kiss Me Once single is going to be "I Was Gonna Cancel" (followed by, she hopes, "Beautiful" and "Kiss Me Once" — the latter of which I consider to be the best song on the album).

And of course the Kylie camp is going with the Pharrell Williams-produced track. "Happy" has been #1 for six weeks now, and it's pretty much sealed the deal by now as far as being just as big a hit as "Get Lucky" and "Blurred Lines" — two other Pharrell-featuring smashes — were. It'd be kind of silly to slap one Pharrell song on your album and not release it as a single, really.

Anyway, in case you've somehow not yet picked up Kiss Me Once, here's the song in question:

Labels: ,

Calvin Harris Sadly Doesn't Get Naked In His Music Video For "Summer," But Watch It Anyway

The "plot" of Calvin Harris' "Summer" video is something about drag racing (not of the RuPaul variety) in the desert just outside Los Angeles and women rolling around in bed while wearing sexy lingerie. At the end of the clip, there's a big party at someone's swank house at night.

I would have preferred to have seen Calvin get naked or at least shirtless, but at least we have some shots of his nicely-sculpted chest in a white tee while walking on a barren road. So enjoy that, friends.


Sunday, April 06, 2014

UK Chart Roundup: John Martin Returns To The Top 10 By Going It Alone

The rapid succession of singles topping the UK chart continues as Aloe Blacc's "The Man," currently at Top 10 single in the States, bumps 5 Seconds Of Summer's "She Looks So Perfect" off the #1 position. In fact, the Australian boy band flizzle-flop all the way down to #10, so fuck them. 

John Martin, onetime Swedish House Mafia vocalist, strikes out on his own with debut single "Anywhere For You."

Not nearly as good as "Don't You Worry Child," of course, but if you dig anthemic dance jams, this should blow your skirt off.

Lower down the chart, Kylie Minogue's "Into The Blue" re-enters the Top 40 by moving up from #42 to #39 in its third week, following the finale of the The Voice UK, and the end of Kylie's short-lived stint on the series.

The UK Top 10:

1. "The Man" - Aloe Blacc *new* *1 week*
2. "All Of Me" - John Legend
3. "I Got U" - Duke Dumont feat. Jax Jones
4. "My Love" - Route 94 feat. Jess Glynne
5. "Changes" - Faul & Wad Ad vs. Pnau
6. "Happy" - Pharrell
7. "Anywhere For You" - John Martin *new*
8. "Rather Be" - Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne
9. "I'm A Freak" - Enrique Iglesias feat. Pitbull
10. "She Looks So Perfect" - 5 Seconds Of Summer

Labels: , , ,